top of page
  • marijuana.iyana

How Cannabis Helped Me Gain Control of My Anxiety


Header Image Credit: www.Plantedu.com

For as long as I can remember I have struggled with severe anxiety. I can recall my earliest panic attack when I was in kindergarten and I thought my mom had put soap in my apple juice because I saw more bubbles in it than usual. I had such a bad panic attack I couldn’t finish my lunch nor go back to class. My mother had to physically come down to the school and drink the juice in front of me for me to calm down and convince me it had not been spiked. Some would say I was just being dramatic but I wasn’t. My mind was and still does often make unreal fears feel very real or illogical thoughts feel logical.


Not until early adulthood did myself and my physician realize I had an anxiety disorder, but once I was able to get a clear understanding of what was happening and that I wasn’t just going crazy I knew I could find a solution. Little did I know the solution to the problem would end being cannabis.


When I first smoked weed I didn't use it with the intention of using it as medicine or even knew it could help anxiety. I was a fresh high school graduate on my way to college just trying new things. I was terrified of weed all throughout my adolescence. My entire life I only saw negative images associated with marijuana users and literally never saw depictions of black women with weed. Many of my peers had tried it and it wasn’t unlikely for some of my family members to “go on a walk” during gatherings then return with a slightly different perfume on. I was used to it around me so one day at a friend's party I was just curious and comfortable with the people I was with so I decided to try it.


Shortly after I took my first inhale I noticed a difference in how I felt. I didn't feel high necessarily because we probably had not the best weed at the time, but I felt a wave of relief and mentally calmer. With my anxiety I constantly had to suppress it, especially in social settings. I was smiling and laughing on the outside but my inner dialogue was full of unknown fears and negative thoughts. After I took my first toke the anxious thoughts slowly silenced themselves. It felt as if someone slowly deflated a balloon in my chest or let the stage lights down low right before a big performance. This plant made me feel like I finally had some control over my anxiety. All throughout college I continued to try and use natural ways of taking care of my mental health and added cannabis to support. During moments where I felt a wave of anxiety approaching I would spark up, meditate/pray, breathe and then be fine. Instead of wasting an entire day recovering from a panic attack I was able to be productive and social.


I was diagnosed with an anxiety disorder in 2012 and recommended Xanax, in 2016 I became a medical cannabis patient in California. Now in the year 2020 I’m proud to say I have yet to use any prescription medications for my anxiety and have been able to maintain my mental health with the use of plant based medicines including CBD and THC. I also am a big advocate for yoga, meditation, prayer, support groups, and therapy. Since I started using cannabis in my mental health practice I had felt more clarity than ever before.


Anxiety disorders are very common, especially among women, but due to embarrassment, stigma or pure unknowing most people don't talk about it or know when it’s a real problem for their mental health. Many people don't take it as seriously as it is because it's not a disease you can physically see. Anxiety is attached to the brain and for people that struggle with it know how exhausting it can be living with it daily.


Anxiety is a normal and often healthy emotion. However, when a person regularly feels disproportionate levels of anxiety, it might become a medical disorder. Anxiety disorders form a category of mental health diagnoses that lead to excessive nervousness, fear, apprehension, and worry. Mild anxiety might be vague and unsettling, while severe anxiety may seriously affect day-to-day living.” according to Medical News Today.


Lucky for human beings we were all born with something called the endocannabanoid system, This system is actually in charge of regulating most of your body's main functions including pain, mood, sleep, appetite, movement, digestion, and reproduction. When the endocannabinoid system is of the whole body could be at risk for physical or mental illness The endocannabinoid system would be considered unhealthy or at risk in individuals who suffer from PTSD, depression, bipolar disorder, Alzheimer's, Hyperemesis Gravidarum (HG), arthritis, Parkinson's Disease and more. Generally any illness that affects normal brain, digestive, or muscle function can benefit from added cannabinoids through the consumption of THC, CBD, or hemp. Endocannabinoids can actually directly respond to these illnesses, through the usage of cannabis.


Many individuals have reported that cannabis has been an effective treatment for their depression or anxiety but everyone’s experience with consuming THC and/or CBD varies so much that it has yet to be medically approved as a treatment for anxiety. There have been several studies, reports, and essays for years that break down and connect how cannabis works with anxiety including a 2017 study by University of Washington.


They reported, “The endocannabinoid system appears to play an important role in responses to stress and anxiety. The two primary active ingredients of marijuana, THC and CBD, appear to have differing effects with regard to anxiety. Pure THC appears to decrease anxiety at lower doses and increase anxiety at higher doses. On the other hand, pure CBD appears to decrease anxiety at all doses that have been tested. There appears to be tolerance to these effects over a short period of time with regular use. There are individual differences in responses to marijuana that are affected by a variety of factors. Many people report using marijuana to cope with anxiety, and this may be particularly common among those with social anxiety disorder.”


For me cannabis has been a great tool in my mental health tool kit and I’m grateful I have safe access to it. I’m of course not a medical professional but I highly recommend doing further research and trying different types of CBD and THC products to help if you are experiencing overwhelming stress or anxiety.



16 views0 comments
bottom of page